Gare du centre ville
Palace of the Prince-Bishops. This palace is an exceptional architectural complex (courtyard, peristyle, 1525; main façade, 1734; West wing, 1849) occupied by the courthouse and the provincial government. Princebishop Erard de la Marck gave the current appearance to the palace in 1526. The building includes two courtyards, but only the first is accessible to people. The 60 columns surmounted by tents richly with fantasy human figures and grotesque masks each different, are a testimony of the humanist thought of the Renaissance and the discovery of the New World.
Natural site in the heart of the city of Liège, the hills of the citadel are not less than 90 hectares of unspoiled nature, almost half of which are classified natural heritage of the Walloon Region. Nature and history, since this exceptional site also has 60 classified monuments!
To discover this natural setting, pedestrian routes have been set up by the city of Liège. They pass in the 8 sites of the slopes: Favechamps, the Péri, the terraces of minimal, the Mountain of Bueren, the park of the citadel, the Carmelite wood, the wood Fabry and the slope of Vivegnis.
The Liège-Guillemins high-speed rail station, a true cathedral of glass and steel, was designed by Valencian architect Santiago Calatrava and inaugurated in 2009. Monumental, organic, ethereal and transparent, it transfigures the urban landscape and towers as a symbol of the city’s renewal. With it, Belgium became the first state to have a high-speed rail network spanning the entire country. Liège lies just 22 min from Aachen, 29 min from Maastricht, 1 h 44 from Liège, 2 h 18 from Paris and 3 h 16 from London.